Possibly, but you’ll want to tread carefully so you don’t unintentionally delete work that you need.

The best way to answer this question is with a better understanding of symbol descriptions and demarcation headings.

What are symbol descriptions?

Symbol descriptions are the heading names you give to Countfire to describe the symbols you’re selecting or measurements you’re making, underneath them.

What are demarcation headings?

Demarcation headings are the heading names you give to Countfire to describe the demarcation areas you are drawing underneath them.

Where are symbol descriptions and demarcation headings saved?

Both symbol descriptions and demarcation headings are saved at the discipline level. 

This means they sit above the drawing level and are shown on any drawing you load within a discipline, irrespective of whether you’ve added any selections, measurements or demarcation areas on that individual drawing. 

What happens if I delete a symbol description or demarcation heading?

By deleting a symbol description or demarcation heading, you are deleting it from the entire discipline, and also deleting all selections, measurements or demarcation areas saved underneath it.

So can I safely delete a symbol description or demarcation heading?

If you’re certain you don’t have any selections, measurements or demarcation areas on other drawings, then it should be safe to delete the symbol description or demarcation heading.

However, if you do have selections, measurements or demarcation areas on other drawings, then deleting their symbol description or demarcation heading, will delete all information saved underneath too.

Learn more

How to: Use demarcations.

Did this answer your question?