Can I safely delete symbol descriptions or zone headings?

Possibly, but you’ll want to tread carefully so you don’t unintentionally delete work that you need.

The best way to answer this question is with a better understanding of symbol descriptions and zone headings.

What are symbol descriptions?

Symbol descriptions are the heading names you give to Countfire to describe the symbols you’re selecting or measurements you’re making underneath them.

What are zone headings?

Zone headings are the heading names you give to Countfire to describe the zones you are drawing underneath them.

Where are symbol descriptions and zone headings saved?

Both symbol descriptions and zone headings are saved at the discipline level.

This means they sit above the drawing level and are shown on any drawing you load within that discipline (irrespective of whether you’ve added any selections, measurements or zones on that individual drawing).

What happens if I delete a symbol description or zone heading?

By deleting a symbol description or zone heading, you are deleting it from the entire discipline and also deleting all selections, measurements or zones saved underneath it.

So can I safely delete a symbol description or zone heading?

Only if you’re certain you don’t have any selections, measurements or zones under that description or heading on other drawings.

However, if you do have selections, measurements or zones on other drawings, then deleting their symbol description or zone heading, will delete all information saved underneath too.


Learn more

How to: Use zones.

Did this answer your question?